Travel: ‘Viking Homelands – Kattegat’ – Denmark, Norway & Sweden (2020)

Kattegat is the name given to the large sea area situated between Denmark, Norway, and Sweden. Thanks to Vikings, many people assume Kattegat is a village in Norway but this is not the case. Sweden borders the Kattegat to the East, Denmark to the southwest, and Norway to the northwest. The bottom of the Kattegat leads to the baltic sea to the Skagerrak, which connects to the North Sea. There are several large cities and major ports in the Kattegat area, including Gothenburg, Aarhus, Aalborg, Halmstad and Frederikshavn. The main islands of the Kattegat are Samsø, Læsø, and Anholt – Samsø has a population of approximately 4,000 people each whereas Læsø and Anholt remain uninhabited. The name Kattegat comes from the old Dutch term for the words “Cat”, “hole” or ‘throat.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s