Travel Views: Salta & Jujuy Provinces, Argentina (4K)

Salta, a province in northwest Argentina, encompasses parts of the Andes Mountains, Yungas forests and semiarid Gran Chaco lowlands. The capital, also called Salta, has colonial architecture including the neoclassical Cathedral of Salta. It’s the departure point for the Tren a las Nubes, a high-altitude railway. Small-town Cafayate is a gateway to wineries and the dramatic rock formations of the Calchaquí Valleys.

Jujuy, a province in Argentina’s remote northwest, is defined by the dramatic rock formations and hills of the Quebrada de Humahuaca. This valley and its indigenous Quechuan villages lie north of the provincial capital and regional gateway, San Salvador de Jujuy. In the valley’s south, the iconic, multicolored Cerro de los Siete Colores’ rocky slopes tower over the Spanish colonial village of Purmamarca.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s